See what Madison has to offer.

2002 City Livability Program Award Winners Announced
20 Mayors Honored for Leadership, Innovation in Creating Better, More "Livable" Communities

MADISON, WI (June 15, 2002) — Mayors Richard M. Daley of Chicago, Illinois, and David G. Wallace of Sugar Land, Texas have been awarded top honors in the 2002 City Livability Awards Program, sponsored by the U.S. Conference of Mayors and Waste Management, Inc. The awards were announced in Madison on June 15 at the 70th Annual Conference of Mayors.

Sugar Land Mayor David G. Wallace
View the Webcast
Download Photos
The City Livability Awards will be announced and presented at the Conference of Mayors' Annual Luncheon by Mr. Maury Myers, Chairman, President and Chief Operating Officer of Waste Management, the nation's largest provider of waste management services. Waste Management's support makes the City Livability Awards Program possible.

City Livability Awards recognize and honor mayors for exemplary leadership in developing and implementing programs that improve the quality of life in America's cities. The winning cities were determined by an independent panel of judges, selected by the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

In addition to the awards won by Mayors Daley and Wallace, Outstanding Achievement awards were received by Mayors Thomas M. Menino of Boston, Massachusetts; Glenda E. Hood of Orlando, Florida; Thomas J. Murphy of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and Meyera E. Oberndorf of Virginia Beach, Virginia,

for cities with populations of 100,000 or more. Outstanding Achievement Awards were also won by Mayors Carlos Mendez Martinez of Aguadilla, Puerto Rico; Will Toor of Boulder, Colorado; Lynn McIlhaney of College Station; and Jennifer T. Stultz of Gastonia, North Carolina, for cities with populations of 100,000 or less.

Honorable Mention Citations were awarded, for cities with populations of 100,000 or greater, to Mayors John Hieftje of Ann Arbor, Michigan; James D. Torrey of Eugene, Oregon; Lee P. Brown of Houston, Texas; Keith Hightower of Shreveport, Louisiana; and Dannel P. Malloy of Stamford, Connecticut. Mayors Peggy Lemons of Paramount, California; Rosemarie Ives of Redmond, Washington; Larry Giammo of Rockville, Maryland; Alan Larson of Schaumburg, Illinois; and Joel T. Daves of West Palm Beach, Florida received Honorable Mention Citations for cities with populations of 100,000 or less.

In addition to the City Livability Awards, Mr. Myers and Conference President, Boston Mayor Thomas M. Menino will present the Richard J. Daley Award to Madison Mayor Susan J. Bauman. The Daley Award is presented annually to the host mayor of the Annual Conference of Mayors in appreciation for the hospitality shown the conference participants.

"Waste Management is proud to sponsor the 2002 City Livability Awards Program," says Mr. Myers. "During the fourteen years we have sponsored the program, many mayors and cities have received well-deserved national recognition for their innovative programs which have enriched their cities and our nation."

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director of the U.S. Conference of Mayors adds, "We at The U.S. Conference of Mayors have celebrated cities and their contribution to quality of life in America for over six decades. We are deeply grateful to Waste Management for their support of the City Livability Awards Program, and for the opportunity to showcase the talent and commitment of mayors and city governments."

"Our City Livability Awards Program gives us a chance to express our pride in their determined leadership and share in the celebration of their achievements," Mr. Cochran said.

# # #

Kathy Amoroso/Craig Hardin: 608/261-4702