Front Page

National League of Cities Gathers in Los Angeles

By Debra DeHaney-Howard

The 76th National League of Cities Annual Congress of Cities in Los Angeles, from December 1 to 4, drew thousands of mayors, council members and other officials from across the nation for workshops, seminars, and plenary sessions devoted to municipal governance.

Under this year's theme, "Discover the Future; People, Places", delegates heard from a wide range of speakers and moderators, including USCM President Denver Mayor Wellington E. Webb, Dallas Mayor Ron Kirk, Kweisi Mfume, Chief Executive Officer of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and David Gergen, editor-at-large at U.S News & World Report, and recording artist Roberta Flack.

At the Annual Business Meeting, NLC members elected Wichita Mayor Bob Knight as President of the National League of Cities, succeeding South Bay Mayor Clarence Anthony, Detroit Mayor Dennis Archer as First Vice President, and Minnetonka (MN) Mayor Karen Anderson as Second Vice President.

The following mayors will serve on the 1999 - 2000 Board of Directors:

Monrovia (CA) Robert Barltett
Marion (NC) A. Everette Clark
Carbondale (IL) Neil Dillard
Athens (TN) Margaret Mahery
Fort Lauderdale (FL) Jim Naugle
Tualatin (OR) Lou Ogden
Oxford (AL) Leon Smith
Gloucester (MA) Mayor Bruce Tobey
District of Columbia Anthony Williams
Grandview (MO) Harry Wilson
Monroe (MI) Mark Worrell

Return to Previous Page


U.S. Mayor

Home Search