Mayor Patrick Henry Hays


1. Briefly describe the structure of your program.

The North Little Rock Police Department Junior Crime Stopperís Program is a voluntary club based at the middle and high school levels. Club members elect officers, do fund raisers, hear speakers and meet monthly for thirty minutes per month. This program also offers monetary rewards for students providing specific information on weapons and narcotics brought onto the school campus. This method has almost totally eliminated guns and narcotics throughout the school system.

2. When was the program created and why?

The Junior Crime Stopperís Program was started in 1993 in conjunction with the NLRPD School Resource Officer Program to promote positive interaction between middle and high school students, the police and members of the community.

3. How do measure the programís effectiveness?

The programís effectiveness has been measured through student response.

4. How is the program financed?

The Junior Crime Stopperís Program has been financed through students involved in fund raising and contributions by businesses.

5. How is the community involved in the program, if at all? How has the community responded to the program?

The community becomes involved in Junior Crime Stoppers when different business people speak to the group about their respective jobs or organizations. The Junior Crime Stopperís Club also sponsors holiday food drives and dances for all middle and high school students whether club members or not. The response from the community and students has been very positive.

6. Contact person:

Officer Martina Flick

Instructor/School Resource Officer

Training & Crime Prevention Unit

North Little Rock Police Department

200 West Pershing Boulevard

North Little Rock, Arkansas 72114

(501) 771-7190

Return to Previous Page.


Home Search

The United States Conference of Mayors

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 293-7330, FAX (202) 293-2352

Copyright © 1999, US Conference of Mayors, All rights reserved.