Mayor Susan Golding

Toll Free Domestic Violence Information Line

The San Diego Toll Free Domestic Violence Information Line grew out of frustration by law enforcement officers who were having a difficult time locating needed assistance, such as safe houses, shelters, counseling services or any other services for victims of domestic violence. The victim of domestic assault were also very frustrated with the level of services available to them.

The line's main objective is to provide 24-hour toll free telephone service that domestic violence victims and law enforcement officers can access in order to obtain necessary services.

A partnership was formed between the San Diego Police Department and the Y.W.C.A. to obtain a federal grant to provide the 24-hour toll free information line. Once the grant was awarded under the Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) program, a coordinator was hired and every service available in San Diego County was programmed into a computer database. The requested service can now be accessed by the operator managing the information line.

The program is still in its infancy, having been implemented in March 1997. It appears to be a success, however, in that the line is being well used by both domestic violence victims and law enforcement personnel. All calls are currently logged to determine their origin and the services requested. Preliminary feedback indicates that those using the service are very satisfied.

The Toll Free Domestic Violence Information operates with an annual budget of $200,000 for the first year provided by federal grant, and involves three police personnel, four full-time civilian employees, and five part-time civilian employees.

CONTACT: Kimberly Pierce, 1012 C Street, San Diego, CA 92101, Telephone (619) 239-0355, Fax - (619) 233-8545.

Return to Previous Page.


Home Search

The United States Conference of Mayors

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 293-7330, FAX (202) 293-2352

Copyright 1999, US Conference of Mayors, All rights reserved.