Mayors Lydia J. Reid of Mansfield, Ohio, and Anthony M. Masiello of Buffalo, New York, received top honors in the 1996 City Livability Awards Program, sponsored by The United States Conference of Mayors and Waste Management, Inc. The awards were announced today in Cleveland at the 64th Annual Conference of Mayors. Mayor Reid won first place for cities of 100,000 or less, and Mayor Masiello received first place for cities with a population greater than 100,000.

The City Livability Awards were announced at the Conference of Mayors' Annual Luncheon by Mr. Phillip B. Rooney, President of Waste Management, the world's largest provider of comprehensive waste services. Waste Management's support makes the City Livability Awards Program possible.

City Livability Awards honor mayors for exemplary leadership in developing and implementing programs that improve the quality of life in American cities. The winning cities were determined by an independent panel of judges, selected by the Conference of Mayors.

Mayors Patsy Jo Hilliard, East Point, Georgia, Thomas B. Concannon, Jr. of Newton, Massachusetts, Jerald Beverland of Olsmar, Florida, and David L. McGeorge of Redding, California each received Outstanding Achievement Awards for cities with populations of 100,000 or less. Outstanding Achievement Awards for cities above 100,000 in population went to Mayors Gary D. McCaleb of Abilene, Texas, H. Brent Coles of Boise, Idaho, Michael R. White of Cleveland, Ohio and Stephen P. Clark of Miami, Florida.

In addition to the 10 City Livability Awards, Mr. Rooney and Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley also presented the Richard J. Daley Award to Cleveland Mayor Michael R. White. The Daley Award is presented annually to the host mayor of the Annual Conference in appreciation for the hospitality shown the conference participants.

Kay Scrimger

Home Search jwelfley@usmayors.org

The United States Conference of Mayors

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 293-7330, FAX (202) 293-2352

Copyright © 1996, US Conference of Mayors, All rights reserved.