1998 City Livability Awards Program

A Program of The United States Conference of Mayors and Waste Management

The United States Conference of Mayors and Waste Management, whose support makes the program possible, are pleased to announce the 40 finalist cities, their mayors and programs, in the first round of the 1998 City Livability Awards Program.

In the initial phase of the 1998 process, cities submitted an initial application of 500 words, which was due on March 2, 1998. From these applications, reviewed by panels of urban specialists, 20 finalist cities in each population category (above and below 100,000 population) were selected. These are listed below.

During the week of March 23-27, the 40 finalist mayors will receive a second round of questions, for preparation of a somewhat more detailed application, due on April 22. An independent panel of judges will review the applications at the end of May and select a total of 20 Award winners -- two First-Place winners, one city of 100,000 population or greater, and one below 100,000 for a total of two cities; four Outstanding Achievement Award winners in each of the two population categories for a total of 8 winners; and 5 Honorable Mention winners in each of the two population categories for a total of 10 cities. Award winners will be announced at the Annual Conference of Mayors in Reno on June 22.

The finalist cities in each of the population categories (above and below 100,000 people) are as follows:

Finalists in Large City Category (population of 100,000 or larger)

  1. Albany, NY - Mayor Gerald D. Jennings: Kids Improvement Districts
  2. Allentown, PA - Mayor William L. Heydt: SportsFest
  3. Boston, MA - Mayor Thomas M. Menino: Boston Main Streets
  4. Bridgeport, CT - Mayor Joseph P. Ganim: Downtown Land Reclamation Program
  5. Carolina, Puerto Rico - Mayor Jose E. Aponte De La Torre: Aqueduct System
  6. El Paso, TX - Mayor Carlos M. Ramirez: Anti-Gang and Drug Initiatives
  7. Huntsville, AL - Mayor Loretta Spencer: Policing Initiatives
  8. Jacksonville, FL - Mayor John A. Delaney: The Mayor's Intensive Care Neighborhoods Program
  9. Las Vegas, NV - Mayor Jan Laverty Jones: Rapid Response Team
  10. Louisville, KY - Mayor Jerry E. Abramson: CityCALL
  11. Macon, GA - Mayor Jim Marshall: Customer Service Center
  12. New Haven, CT - Mayor John DeStefano, Jr.: School Construction Program
  13. New Orleans, LA - Mayor Marc H. Morial: Community Gardens Project
  14. Oklahoma City, OK- Mayor Ronald J. Norick: Metropolitan Area Projects (MAPS)
  15. Pembroke Pines, FL - Mayor Alex G. Fekete: Wetlands Mitigation Bank
  16. Plano, TX - Mayor John Longstreet: Water Environmental Testing Program
  17. Portsmouth, VA - Mayor James W. Holley III: Neighborhood Enhancement and Action Teams (NEAT)
  18. Reno, NV - Mayor Jeff Griffin: Uptown Downtown ARTown
  19. St. Louis, MO - Mayor Clarence Harmon: Trash Task Force
  20. Stamford, CT - Mayor Dannel P. Malloy: Parent Drug Education Program (PDEP)

Finalists, Cities of Less than 100,000 Population

  1. Alameda, CA - Mayor Ralph Appezzato: The Substantial Rehabilitation Program
  2. Alpharetta, GA - Mayor Charles E. "Chuck" Martin, Jr. : Project Ripple: Year-Round Water Education
  3. Berwyn, IL - Mayor Thomas G. Shaughnessy: Century Homes Awards
  4. East Point, GA - Mayor Patsy Jo Hilliard: Community Policing Program
  5. Euless, TX - Mary Lib Saleh: Promotion of Tree Planting and Growth
  6. Gilbert, AZ - Mayor Cynthia L. Dunham: Public-Private Partnership for Effective Neighborhood Leadership
  7. Holyoke, MA - Mayor Daniel J. Szostkiewicz: Holyoke Hydroelectric Facility
  8. Logan, UT - Mayor Douglas E. Thompson: Wood Waste and Compost Facility
  9. Lynchburg, VA - Mayor James S. Whitaker: Comprehensive Code Enforcement
  10. Lynn, MA - Mayor Patrick J. McManus: Cops and Kids Program
  11. Medford, MA - Mayor Michael J. McGlynn: Public Education Regarding Disability Issues
  12. Monterey, CA - Mayor Daniel Albert: Waterfront Enhancement Project
  13. Moorhead, MN - Mayor Morris L. Lanning: Community Policing
  14. Natchez, MS - Mayor Larry L. "Butch" Brown: Large Unused Municipal Projects (LUMPS)
  15. Quincy, MA - Mayor James A. Sheets: Quincy Recreational Complex
  16. St. Joseph, MO - Mayor Larry R. Stobbs: Project for a Cleaner St. Joseph
  17. Schaumburg, IL - Village President Al Larson: New Ventures in the Arts and Culture
  18. Somerville, MA - Mayor Michael E. Capuano: Brownfields to Open Spaces
  19. Trenton, NJ - Mayor Douglas H. Palmer: Welfare Reform That Works
  20. University Heights, OH - Mayor Beryl E. Rothschild: Series of Discoveries -- a Curriculum to Celebrate Diversity

Contacts: Kay Scrimger (202) 861-6728; FAX (202) 293-2352; Kathy Amoroso, (202) 861-6723; FAX: (202) 293-2352.

(Date: March 23, 1998)

Home Search cswann@usmayors.org

The United States Conference of Mayors

J. Thomas Cochran, Executive Director
1620 Eye Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
Telephone (202) 293-7330, FAX (202) 293-2352

Copyright © 1998, US Conference of Mayors, All rights reserved.