for completing your City Livability Awards application
Eligibility for Participation in the 1999 City Livability Awards Program
Every municipality in the United States is eligible to nominate one or more city government programs in any policy area, regardless of whether the municipality has applied for or received a City Livability Award in previous years. All programs initiated by the city government are eligible, including those developed and implemented in conjunction with private sector and/or community group participation.

City Livability Awards: Two Population Categories
The 20 City Livability Awards are presented in two population categories - ten Awards for cities of fewer than 100,000 people, and ten Awards for cities of 100,000 or more inhabitants. In each category ten Awards will be presented:

  • One First-Place City Livability Award;
  • Four Outstanding Achievement Awards; and
  • Five Honorable Mention Citations.

What Award-winning Mayors and Their Cities Receive

  • A hand-crafted, engraved City Livability Award sculpture, suitable for public display as a symbol of the city's Award;
  • Permission to use the exclusive City Livability Award logo on municipal flags, stationery, street signs, t-shirts, etc.;
  • Press releases for winning cities as well as being the focus of a national media campaign by the Conference of Mayors and Waste Management to publicize cities' achievements in their winning programs;
  • Publication in U.S. Mayor, the twice-monthly news publication of the Conference of Mayors, and a description of winning programs on the Conference's Internet Web Site; and
  • Assistance in planning and conducting a local ceremony, in which the City Livability Award will be presented again to the mayor by representatives from the Conference of Mayors and Waste Management.

How to Apply
Cities participating in the 1999 City Livability Awards Program will submit an initial application of 500 words, due on Friday, March 12, 1999. From these applications, 20 finalist cities will be selected, and will be announced on March 26, 1999. Finalists will submit a more detailed application, due on Friday, April 23. Award winners will be announced on June 14 at the 67th Annual Conference of Mayors in New Orleans. Below is the initial application form and information to assist you in completing your application. Be sure to include a cover page with the application.

Initial Application: Prepare a brief description of up to 500 words total of an outstanding and/or innovative program that your city government has developed, either recently or in the past. The program must be one that is currently operating. The questions are: 1) Describe your program briefly. 2) When and why was it created? 3) How has the program improved the quality of life in your community? 4) Why is your program outstanding or innovative?

  • Use up to 500 words to answer all four questions; that is, the total number of words for all four questions together should be no more than 500. Do not send any exhibit materials, photos, videos or anything other than the 500 word description of your program.
  • Staple the pages together for each application, with the cover sheet on top. Do not use binders, report covers, clear-front presentation binders, folders, etc. Send a total of five copies of the application for each program nominated.
  • You may select as many programs within your city as you wish to nominate, but a separate application must be completed for each program you submit.
  • Date application is due: Your 500-word application must be received in the Conference of Mayors' offices on or before Friday, March 12, 1999. The deadline is firm. You can send your submission(s) by regular mail, Federal Express, UPS, or any mail system that you prefer but FAXes and e-mail will NOT be accepted.

Return five hard copies of the application to:
Kay Scrimger
City Livability Awards Program
The U. S. Conference of Mayors
4th Floor, 1620 Eye Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
Telephone: 202.861.6728

Please include a stamped, self-addressed postcard with your application so that the Conference of Mayors can acknowledge receipt of your application. Do not call to ask if we have received your application; the returned postcard will acknowledge receipt.

Selection of Finalist Cities
On March 26, 1999, after all the applications have been reviewed by a small group of recognized urban government specialists, all mayors that submitted an application will receive a FAX notifying them of the finalist cities, and finalist cities will be announced on the Conference of Mayors' Internet site, which can be accessed by the following: http://www.usmayors.org/citylivabilityawards/ Application for Finalist Cities
In the second part of the City Livability Awards process, the finalist cities will provide more information about their program, including supplementary materials such as videos, clippings, photos. Questions for this phase will be mailed to the finalist cities after they are announced on March 26. The finalists' applications will be due in Washington in the Conference of Mayors' office on Friday, April 23, 1999. Independent Panel of Judges Will Select the Award Winners From the finalist cities, an independent panel of judges will select the winners of the 1999 City Livability Awards. The judges will meet in late May to make their determinations.

Announcement of Awards
Announcement of the City Livability Award-winning mayors will be made at the Annual City Livability Awards Luncheon at the 67th Annual Conference of Mayors on Monday, June 14, 1999, in New Orleans. The Conference of Mayors will notify the 20 winning mayors in late May so that they can plan to attend the Annual Conference of Mayors Meeting.

What Award-Winning Cities Must Do
When making the decision to participate in the 1999 Program, please take into consideration the following requirements of Award winners:

  • All First-Place Winning Cities and Outstanding Achievement Award winning mayors must attend or send a designee to the Annual Luncheon of the 67th Annual Conference of Mayors in New Orleans on June 14, 1999.
  • The two first-place winning cities must hold a local ceremony within 90 days following announcement of the Awards on June 14, 1999. Conference of Mayors' and Waste Management representatives will assist in planning the local ceremony and will be in attendance to re-present the Award to the Mayor.
  • All Outstanding Achievement winning cities are also expected to hold local ceremonies.