Press Release

For Immediate Release
December 9, 1999

Tony lallonardo
Phone: 202-293-7330

Mayors, Other Local Leaders to Be Honored at White House Ceremony

Sustainable Development Initiatives Provide Models for Nation's Cities

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) and The National Association of Counties (NACo) proudly announce the winners of the 1999 Sustainable Community Awards. The awards honor local leaders for promoting policies and programs that lead to job growth, environmental stewardship, and social equity -- the three pillars of sustainable communities.

The ceremony will be held Monday December 13, 1999 at the White House Old Executive Office Building, Room 450, from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. Reporters without White House clearance should contact USCM to obtain entry.

Highlights include:

  • presentation of the 1999 Sustainable Community Awards and the HUD Secretary’s Awards by Andrew Cuomo, Secretary, Department of Housing and Urban Development; and
  • release of a best practices publication on the 1999 Sustainable Community Award Winners by H. Brent Coles, Mayor of Boise and Vice-President of USCM and Javier Gonzales, Commissioner, Santa Fe County, NM.

The winners of Joint Center Sustainable Community Awards (alphabetically by state) are:

  • Tempe/Maricopa County (AZ) for their "Tempe Rio Salado Project"
  • Yuma/Yuma County (AZ)for their "Joint Use Plan"
  • San Bernardino/Colton (CA) for their "Regional Tertiary Treatment and Water Reclamation Project"
  • Sonoma County/Santa Rosa (CA) for their "Green Business Program"
  • Westminster/Orange County (CA) for their "Family Protection Project"
  • Denver City & County/Aurora (CO) for their "Lowry Redevelopment Project"
  • Ada County/Boise et al. (ID) for their "Treasure Valley Partnership"
  • Prince George’s County/Colmar Manor Town et al. (MD) for their "Port Towns Revitalization Initiative"
  • Cincinnati/Hamilton County (OH) for their "Port Authority for Brownfields Redevelopment Project"
  • Dayton/Kettering et al. (OH) for their "Make a Difference in Hill & Dales Park" project
  • Youngstown/Mahoning County et al. (OH) for their "Mahoning River Corridor of Opportunity" project
  • Portland/Multnomah County et al. (OR) for their "Oregon Way to a World-Class Workforce" project
  • Lancaster County/Lancaster (PA) for their "Lancaster County Growth Management Strategy"
  • Chattanooga/Hamilton County (TN) for their "Eastgate Town Center" project
  • Northampton County/Cape Charles Town (VA) for their "Northampton County Sustainable Development Plan"

The awards ceremony is organized by the Joint Center for Sustainable Communities, a collaboration between USCM and NACo. Its primary mission is to provide a forum for cities and counties to work together to develop long-term policies and that foster sustainable communities. The Joint Center helps local elected officials build sustainable communities by promoting community leadership initiatives, providing technical assistance and training, and conducting community policy and educational forums.